Opening Books Battle..

General discussion about computer chess...
Swaminathan

Opening Books Battle..

Post by Swaminathan » Fri Feb 04, 2011 2:56 am

Do you believe in opening book tournaments posted in Rybka forum and elsewhere? I mean do you think that the well-designed engine specific opening book may prove effective in strength improvement than the normal-balanced opening book which can be used by many engines?

I'm new to opening books, and I've no idea which one is the best. So, please post links to download/view results etc

Thanks!
Logo made by Ulysses P (Vytron)
Co-Authored with Dann Corbit: Strategic Test Suite

Dave Mitchell

Re: Opening Books Battle..

Post by Dave Mitchell » Sat Feb 05, 2011 5:07 am

I don't have links for you, but I guarantee that a good opening book is indispensable for serious competition. Among programs or players that are close in chess playing strength, the opening book can swell to the point it overshadows other important factors in the competition.

Swaminathan

Post by Swaminathan » Sat Feb 05, 2011 12:07 pm

Dave Mitchell wrote:I don't have links for you, but I guarantee that a good opening book is indispensable for serious competition. Among programs or players that are close in chess playing strength, the opening book can swell to the point it overshadows other important factors in the competition.
You're ofcourse right. SuperGrandmasters invest a lot of time into opening preparations. They always like to have razor sharp opening lines which give them slight advantage/better position and a lot of play, before they get into early middlegame.

BB+

Post by BB+ » Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:52 am

I don't know how scientific the testing is, but the ChessBase advert says the "Pro" version of the Hiarcs opening book "adds up to 50 Elo" over the "Lite" version.