Engine for analysis

Code, algorithms, languages, construction...
kirill57

Engine for analysis

Post by kirill57 » Thu Jun 17, 2010 8:05 am

I am not a programmer myself, but I was thinking about learning chess programming in order to make an engine not for game play, but exclusively for chess analysis. I really do not see a practical sense to make engines which will be stronger in 1-1 time control settings, but engine which can be really good in a very long analysis makes perfect sense for professional/correspondence players. Such analysis for just one position can last days, in some cases even weeks. It can use a number of different new techniques, comparing to the regular analysis performed by chess engine. In particular I think it can use:
1. A combination of IDEA/Monte Carlo analysis
2. A "true" positional learning, where evaluation function will be adjusted to be best for analyzed position (in particular engine will learn which pieces are more valuable and may be even which positional factors are more important in a concrete position).

However, before trying to waste my time on such an endeavor, I just want to ask real programmers if all this makes sense :).

bbauer

Re: Engine for analysis

Post by bbauer » Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:41 am

Yes this makes sense.
Up to now most developers are only interested in strength which they measure in Elo.
Such a engine may find a good move which wins, but is not the best move.
Example:
rnb1k1nr/p2p1ppp/3B4/1p1N1N1P/4P1P1/3P1Q2/PqP5/R4Kb1 w kq - 0 1

Here vi know that e5 is winning, but it may take some time to find the best move.
Kind regards
Bernhard
Last edited by kingliveson on Tue Jun 22, 2010 6:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: broken fen tag

64x

Post by 64x » Thu Jun 17, 2010 10:03 pm