Interfacing with a GUI

Code, algorithms, languages, construction...
ppyvabw

Interfacing with a GUI

Post by ppyvabw » Tue Dec 08, 2015 8:13 pm

I am now trying to interface my engine with a GUI, which is something I have never tried before. I'll probably use Knights (because I like it) and XBoard protocol, but the intention is that ultimately I'd like to be able to play it online automatically to test it -- I don't have time to sit and play hundreds of games to see how well it plays, as much as I'd like to :lol:

From what I have researched so far, is it really just a case of adapting my engine to input and output data in the correct format, and having knights run the engine from a command such as ./directory_to_my_executable/executable? Presumably knights will set up the pipes and do everything else?

Is there a minimum amount of stuff I have to have implemented? At the moment, the only input and output is reading and outputting moves and displaying the PV, score etc... to and from a terminal window -- no clock yet. Is the clock dealt with by the GUI, which passes the time to the engine, or does the engine needs its own clock?

Any advice anyone can give me, or directions to more literature would be really appreciated.

hyatt

Re: Interfacing with a GUI

Post by hyatt » Tue Dec 08, 2015 10:51 pm

ppyvabw wrote:I am now trying to interface my engine with a GUI, which is something I have never tried before. I'll probably use Knights (because I like it) and XBoard protocol, but the intention is that ultimately I'd like to be able to play it online automatically to test it -- I don't have time to sit and play hundreds of games to see how well it plays, as much as I'd like to :lol: