Which engine for an absolute beginner?

Discussion about chess-playing software (engines, hosts, opening books, platforms, etc...)
Rooky

Which engine for an absolute beginner?

Post by Rooky » Thu Nov 13, 2014 1:18 pm

I'm just starting to learn chess and would like to train against the computer. Note that's "starting" as in "I know how the pieces move". I have watched some youtube chess commentaries though so I have a rough idea about some basic tactics.

Question: What chess engine can simulate another *human*, very weak player w/o blasting me off the board or being crippled into producing outright stupid moves?

There are so many chess engines around I'm having a hard time looking through all of them. Currently I'm using Rodent, but the author writes that the "weakening" feature is still experimental. I like Rodent's quick settings for different chess "personalities" and opening styles though.

Thanks for any hints what engine is adequate!

HumbleProgrammer

Re: Which engine for an absolute beginner?

Post by HumbleProgrammer » Fri Nov 14, 2014 1:05 pm

This may not be the answer you were expecting, but you will benefit much more from playing against other people. Chess engines -- even when deliberately weakened -- don't play the same way humans do: they don't overlook moves, they don't form flawed plans, and don't have favorites or phobias. When asked about "this engine or that engine", several GMs have answered "Why would I play against an engine? They play very boring chess."

There are lots of ways to play chess with people: local clubs, an equally novice friend, or via the Internet. You can play for free on FICS or ICCS, or join subscription sites like http://www.chess.com or www.playchess.com; there are literally thousands of games going on simultaneously. all around the world.